Boston’s 43rd July 4th Fireworks Spectacular was celebrated this year with an amazing fireworks display over the Charles River, personally the best I have ever seen. This year was also the last year for long time executive director and founder David Mugar as he is stepping down. The future of the show is uncertain at this time.

This year I was faced with a challenge while shooting the fireworks, there were high wind gusts that shook my camera. I ended up shielding the camera from the wind with an umbrella, which seemed to help. Also, despite the windy conditions the smoke from the fireworks seemed to linger around the display causing me to try and edit the smoke out in post production, which doesn’t always result in a eye pleasing image.

Technical specs for those interested. Most images were taken at ISO 64-200, f/16, & between 4-10 seconds.

Below are my pictures shot from a vantage point in Kendall Square, Cambridge. Hope you enjoy!

 

 

Shameless plug: Visit 617 Images Website for more pictures of Boston and New England. Images can be purchased as paper prints on the website. Framed prints & canvas prints are also available, please email for details. You can also follow me on 617 Images Twitter617 Images Facebook, & 617 Images Instagram.

